To qualify for a Wisconsin insurance license, you must meet some requirements set by the state of Wisconsin. Continue reading to find out more about the processes for taking an examination and becoming a licensed insurance agent.
The state of Wisconsin requires future insurance agents to complete 20 hours of pre-license education for each line of authority. Thus, you must complete 40 hours for combined lines.
It is essential that 8 of these 20 hours cover the principles of insurance, general Wisconsin insurance laws and ethics.
Note that pre-license education requirement does not apply to you providing that you have completed a two-year Wisconsin degree program in insurance or a four-year college degree in business (insurance emphasis).
The pre-license courses are accessible both in classroom and online. A combination of both might also be an acceptable option.
After the above-mentioned courses, the education provider will grant you with a Certificate of completion. You will need to present this document when you take the licensing exam. It is only valid for one calendar year.
Another important step is passing the background check, which will start, when you provide your fingerprints. In addition to this, you should complete fingerprinting here. The fee for the service is $39.25.
The next step is taking and passing the state licensing exam. You must pass it within the one year of completing pre-license education. If you fail to do so, you will need to retake the required courses.
Use this link to register for the exam and pay $75 for each examination attempt. Remember that the examination fee is valid for a year and you should take the exam within this time.
Pay attention to the fact that you must take one exam for each desired lines of authority.
Each exam comprises of one hundred questions and you will have two hours to finish the whole test.
The passing score for the Wisconsin insurance exam is 70% or higher. However, if you fail, you can retake the exam on another day. To register for a new exam, call at (888) 818-5805.
Showing up at the test center, you should have two forms of current identification and the certificate with you. You must present the certificate in the form of a faxed or paper copy. The testing facility will not accept the official transcript, if it is altered or does not bear the signature of the course provider.
When you successfully pass the state exam, wait for 72 hours before you submit the application.
Click here to apply and pay $75 for each line of authority, as well as $10 for license application.
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53703-3474
Phone: (608) 266-8699
In Wisconsin, you should complete 24 hours of continuing education to be eligible for license renewal.
Click here to renew the insurance license and pay the $35 fee.
The NAIC number is something, which the National Association of Insurance Commissioner’s (NAIC) gives to each individual.